Zverev Art Prize.

10/19/21 - 11/28/21

CSI Winzavod.

At the beginning of 2021, the AZ Museum announced a competition of art projects for the Anatoly Zverev Prize (Zverev Art Prize). The conditions for submitting and considering applications were extremely democratic. The theme and slogan of the competition was the famous aphorism of the "World of Art" reformulated by A. Zverev in his autobiography: LIFE IS CHALLENGED, ART IS FREE. Projects were expected from applicants, which would reflect creative freedom, creativity, overcoming the limits of stereotypes and platitudes. All these qualities were evaluated by the Expert Council, which included leading gallery owners, critics and teachers of various art institutions (the list of members of the Expert Council is in the appendix).

More than 2 thousand applications from 169 cities of Russia and 32 countries of the world were submitted for the competition. Each of the 7 experts had the opportunity to study in detail any of the applications and secretly vote "for" or "against": those applicants who received the largest number of votes automatically got into the short list. As a result of voting, a list of 50 artists was formed, whose works will now be presented at the final exhibition.

An important condition of the competition was the novelty and originality of the submitted works. Artists were not limited to thematic or specific frames. Not surprisingly, 50 completely different projects made it to the final: from series of paintings and experimental videos to large-scale installations and monumental objects. The curators of the Zverev Art Prize exhibition, Antonio Geusa and Sergey Solovyov, were faced with the task of not only collecting all the competition works in the arena space (many of them were created immediately before the opening day), but also trying to see the internal connections between them to create a coherent exposition. The spatial and design solution was undertaken by a team led by architect Peter Tolpin. This exhibition was conceived not just as a parade of outstanding artists; it is designed to show a characteristic cross-section of contemporary art, the most current trends and phenomena of today's Russian art scene.

Премия Анатолия Зверева.

19.10.21 - 28.11.21

ЦСИ Винзавод.

В начале 2021 года Музей AZ объявил конкурс арт-проектов на соискании Премии Анатолия Зверева (Zverev Art Prize). Условия подачи и рассмотрения заявок были предельно демократичны. Темой и девизом конкурса стал знаменитый афоризм «мирискусников», переформулированный А. Зверевым в его автобиографии: ЖИЗНЬ СКОВАНА, ИСКУССТВО СВОБОДНО. От соискателей ожидались проекты, в которых бы отразились творческая свобода, креативность, преодоление рамок стереотипов и банальностей. Все эти качества оценивал Экспертный совет, в который вошли ведущие галеристы, критики и преподаватели различных арт-институций (список членов Экспертного совета — в приложении).

На конкурс были поданы более 2 тысяч заявок из 169 городов России и 32 стран мира. Каждый из 7 экспертов имел возможность детально изучить любую из заявок и тайно проголосовать «за» или «против»: в шорт-лист автоматически попадали те претенденты, кто набирал наибольшее число голосов. В результате голосования был сформирован список из 50 художников, чьи произведения теперь будут представлены на итоговой выставке.

Немаловажным условием конкурса была новизна и оригинальность заявленных работ. Художники не ограничивались тематическими или видовыми рамками. Не удивительно, что в финал прошли 50 совершенно разных проектов: от живописных серий и экспериментальных видео до масштабных инсталляций и монументальных объектов. Перед кураторами выставки Zverev Art Prize Антонио Джеуза и Сергеем Соловьевым стояла задача не только собрать в манежном пространстве все конкурсные работы (многие из них создавались непосредственно перед вернисажем), но и попытаться увидеть между ними внутренние связи для создания целостной экспозицию. Пространственное и дизайнерское решение взяла на себя команда во главе с архитектором Петром Толпиным. Эта выставка мыслилась не просто парадом выдающихся художников; она призвана показать характерный срез современного искусства, наиболее актуальные тренды и явления сегодняшней российской арт-сцены.